Amid the ongoing review of UK gambling law, another official from the Department for Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS) has announced his resignation. Earlier this week, Damien Collinsannounced his decision to leave his position with DCMS.

Damian Collins leaves DCMS

In a statement released via Twitter, Collins revealed that it was exciting to collaborate with the team of experts within the DCMS. With the DCMS, he helped advance strategic measures such as the Online security bill. However, Collins revealed that he has decided to leave his current position and added that he would further support DCMS efforts in parliament from the back seats.

It has been a real pleasure to work with the DCMS team to advance the Online Safety Bill and other measures to strengthen our digital economy. I will now continue to support these efforts in Parliament from the backbenchers.

Damien Collins

Fourth minister to resign from his post

Collins served as a Member of Parliament (MP) for Folkestone and Hythe since 2010. Between 2016 and 2019 he was Chairman of the House of Commons Select Committee on Digital, Culture, Media and Sport, while in 2021 he chaired the UK Parliament’s Joint Committee for the Bill online security law, a proposal that seeks to improve the security and safety of the Internet.

It was in July when Collins took the lead role with the DCMS as Minister of Technology and Digital. It happened after Chris Philip resigned in protest against the leadership of Prime Minister Boris Johnson. But they are not the only two ministers to resign from their posts. Nigel Huddleston and John Wittingdale also held this position but decided to step down.

Collins’ decision to resign follows the appointment of Michelle Donelan as DCMS Secretary of State. Former British Prime Minister Liz Truss announced Donelan’s appointment last month. Now under the new Prime Minister Rishi SunakDonelan will continue in his role with DCMS.