Sean Gardner | Getty Images

NASCAR officials penalized two Cup Series teams on Tuesday for lost wheels at last weekend’s event at Dover Motor Speedway.

The No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota team for driver Denny Hamlin and the No. 16 Kaulig Racing Chevrolet team for AJ Allmendinger each received penalties for violating section of the NASCAR rulebook, which specifies the separation of an incorrectly installed wheel. Due to safety violations during the DuraMAX Drydene 400, four-race suspensions have been issued to each of the following crew members:

RELATED: Hamlin’s woes at Dover | Cup Series Ranking

Team No. 11: crew chief Chris Gabehart, jackman Derrell Edwards, front tire changer Blake Houston
Team n°16: Crew chief Matt Swiderski, front tire changer Keiston France, jackman Jonathan Willard

In the Xfinity Series, two wheel-related penalties were imposed after Dover. JR Motorsports’ No. 1 Chevrolet team for driver Sam Mayer was hit with three-crew four-race suspensions for the loss of a wheel in Saturday’s 200 miles. Crew chief Taylor Moyer and crew members Orane Ossowski (rear changer) and Markus Pierce-Brewster (jack) have been suspended for the next four events.

Additionally, the #16 Kaulig Racing Chevrolet team on the Xfinity side was fined for having an unsecured lug nut during a post-race check. Crew chief Bruce Schlicker was fined $5,000.

NASCAR officials also announced an indefinite suspension for Jason Houghtaling, following a behavioral sanction under Rule Book Section 4.4.e. Houghtaling had been listed as crew chief of Jesse Iwuji Motorsports’ #34 entry on the crew rosters for the first eight races of the season.